## KLA GOLD MEDAL AWARD FUNCTION 16<sup>TH</sup> May 2007

Kerala Library Association organized a function at the Lecture Hall, Department of Library and Information Science, University Library Building, Trivandrum at 3.30 pm on 16<sup>th</sup> May 2007 in connection with the presentation of KLA Gold Medals to the First Rank Holders of BLISc / MLISc Degree Courses of the Universities in Kerala, the distribution of CA Augustin Holy Cross Endowment Awards and Mementos and the launch of Website of the Association.

Sri.M.A. Baby, Hon'ble Minister for Education and Culture, Govt. of Kerala inaugurated the function and presented the Prof (Dr) M.K.Ramachandran Nair, Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor, University of Kerala presided. In his inaugural speech the Hon'ble Minister paid rich tributes to the Kerala Library Association for the contributions made by it for the library movement in the state. He announced that the Government has decided to conduct a Lottery for financing the development of Public Libraries and School Libraries in the State. The entire amount received from the proceeds of the Lottery would be utilized for the development of the libraries. The Minister presented KLA Gold Medals to the first rank holders of BLISc Degree Courses of the University of Calicut and Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam and first rank holder of MLISc Degree course of the University of Kerala. The award winners are:

## **University of Calicut**

1.	Febin Haroon	BLISc	2004-05	I Rank
2.	Ramya KP	BLISc	2005-06	I Rank

## M.G. University, Kottayam

1. Suby.G. Nair BLISc 2005-06 I Rank

## University of Kerala

1. Sanjo Jose MLISc 2004-06 I Rank

The Minister also distributed the Cash awards and Mementos instituted by CA Augustin Holy Cross Endowment for Information Science. The awards were given to the students who scored top marks in the Paper <u>Information</u>, <u>Communication and Management</u> of the MLISc Examination of the University of Kerala. The award Winners are Viji Mathew MLISc 2003-05 s and Sanjo Jose and Chithra.S MLISc 2004-06.

- Prof (Dr) M.K. Ramachandran Nair, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, University of Kerala in his Presidential speech congratulated KLA for arranging the Award function and for the distribution of KLA Gold Medals all these years without break. He also congratulated the students for getting the Awards and wished that they will be much benefited by getting the awards which would support them in attaining greater heights in their further studies and employement.
- Prof. (Dr) K.S. Raghavan, Professor, Documentation, Research and Training Centre, Bangalore launched the web site of KLA. He remarked that with the launch of the website of the Association KLA has been able to expand its horizon to international level which would help the Association to have interaction with its members and similar Associations globally.
- Sri. C. Bhaskaran, Member of Syndicate, University of Kerala in his felicitation speech wanted the Government to take urgent steps for the appointment of Librarians in School Libraries and said that he would support the KLA in all its endeavors to develop the school libraries and to get School Librarinas He lauded the students for getting the award and wished good luck in their future.
- Prof. (Dr). G.Devarajan, Member of Syndicate, University of Kerala and former Professor and Head of the Department of Library and Information Science in his felicitation address praised the Association for its professional activities and exhorted the students to be of service to the profession. Smt. J. Usha, Deputy Librarian in Charge, Kerala University Library also offered felicitations on the occasion.
- N. Parameswaran, President, KLA welcomed the dignitaries. In his welcome speech he wanted the Government to take immediate steps for the creation of Librarian Post in the Higher Secondary Schools, and to appoint qualified library science professionals in these posts. He also thanked the state Govt., the Education Minister and Finance Minister for providing Rs. 3 crores for the development of the Kerala University Library. Dr. A. Gopikuttan, General Secretary proposed the vote of thanks. Mr. Sanjo Jose, Miss Suby G Nair replied and thanked the KLA for the awards given to them.